PDA

View Full Version : service dog at work today

lovemyshiba
05-09-2003, 04:30 PM
As some of you know, I work in a restaurant. Today, around 1 pm, when our lunch crowd began to leave, 3 people and a dog came in for lunch. One man was in a wheelchair, and the dog is his. This dog was a service dog for him. He was a beautiful black lab, his name is Marvin. He just laid on the floor and at ice cubes the whole time. I know these dogs are trained so well, but I couldn't believe it--all that food going past him--I even swept right near his paws, and he didn't do anything.
He was so beautiful, and it was all I could do to resist petting him and giving him a big hug.

Cookiebaker
05-09-2003, 04:53 PM
Aww Marvin sounds so sweet!!! I know what you mean about them seeming irrisistable!! ;)

Cheshirekatt
05-09-2003, 05:12 PM
Awwwwww! It's so hard not to touch them, huh? What a good boy. :D

tatsxxx11
05-09-2003, 07:20 PM
The work these dogs do is amazing! Each and every one of them is a hero in my book! And it's so hard to resist giving them a hug and kiss! Marvin, you're a hero!!:)

KYS
05-09-2003, 08:10 PM
I also love seeing a service dog.
I agree, everyone is a hero. :)

Kater
05-09-2003, 09:10 PM
I always smile when I see a service dog. :)

kingrattus
05-09-2003, 11:36 PM
I learned my lesson the hard way not to trust the owner of a service dog. I was quite young. maybe 8yrs tops. I didn't know much about service dogs, but I knew u had to ask to pet a strange dog. I was in the local mall & asked the lady if I could pet her dog, she said sure, & when I was about to touch him he lundged at me and just missed my skin. I wasn't the only small kid that dog tried to attack, he went after a toddler & after people who were just walking by. I sent a huge complaint to the mall, about the dog trying to attack people for no reason & the owner doing nothing at all except pet the horrible dog.