PDA

View Full Version : Scabis

ellensy
09-16-2000, 05:55 AM
How come my doctor says i have scabis? She further says that it must have come from my dogs. What is it and how do I avoid having it? Many thanks!

tatsxxx11
10-29-2000, 04:49 PM
Dear ellensy

I am a nurse, and have to say I'm glad you've seen your physician about this condition. (Scabies) It can, if left untreated, become a real nuisance!!
She or he should be the one to fill you in on all the details, because it is very involved, but here's a little background,
Scabies is a CONTAGIOUS disorder of the skin caused by the very tiny, wingless, parasitic "Human Itch Mite." Red rash and severe itch are commonly seen and experienced at the site where the female insect burrows into the skin. If untreated, the female will continue to lay eggs for 5 weeks!!! It is spread by personal contact, such as shaking hands, sleeping together (yes,with dogs too) or by close contact with infected clothing, bedding, towels, etc. It is ususally found where people are crowded together, like in schools, among families, schoolmates, roommates, etc. Quick treatment is needed to rid the infected person or entire family of eggs and insects.