PDA

View Full Version : Anyone into herding?

Demigodess
04-29-2003, 11:23 AM
Is anyone out there involved in herding with their dog? My GSD is driving me nuts - herds everything all the time. He has no ball drive but he will chase the ball so that he can run around with it in his mouth so the other dogs chase him (a form of herding the other dogs).

My cats are irritated with the herding and he tries to herd my husband and I when he doesn't want us to leave or something.

I entered him in a herding instinct test this weekend as I think I am going to have to give him an outlet for this behavior. However, I am nervous because I don't know anyone involved in herding and I find the whole thing confusing (titles, levels, etc).

Anyone out there have experience that could help me out?

lovemyshiba
04-29-2003, 12:23 PM
Atlas is so handsome!!!
While I have no herding experience, I did see something on TV the other day--someone had a dog that wanted to herd everything, and wouldn't chase the balls, so they told her to throw a bunch of balls (like 5), and then the dog can herd all of the balls together. It wasn't on tv, sorry, I read it in Dog Fancy.

Good luck with the test!!

ParNone
04-29-2003, 03:29 PM
Hi Demigodess!

I've got a 9 mo old Collie, Oz, that's still frisbee and toy motivated,
but I have noticed his herding instincts are starting to increase
as he matures. Much to the annoyance of my lil' Cairn terrier,
Oz has taken to poking Murph in the rear with his nose and
blocking his path at every step. And the other night, he was
herding a couple of frogs from one flowerbed to another.

We're in dog agility right now, so we haven't tried any herding
activities. But I'd love to hear how it goes with Atlas and what
all's involved with the test once you complete it.

Par...

GoldenRetrLuver
05-03-2003, 12:40 PM