PDA

View Full Version : Air travel for cats - any advice?

Ally Cat's Mommy
03-18-2003, 09:22 AM
Ally may soon have to take her first flight in an airplane!I have bought her a "pet limo" travel cage - enough space to turn around, stretch etc - and it's airline approved.

She has all her shots, and all her paperwork is in place.

She wont be able to travel in the cabin (none of the airlines on my route allow this), so will be in the heated pressurised portion of the cargo hold. Total transit time will be around 18 hours - unfortunately there is no way to shorten this!

I am really nervous about this - she is my first Cat, so I have no previous experience.

I'd really appreciate any advice which will help make her journey more comfortable.

Thanks!:eek:

K & L
03-18-2003, 09:27 AM
http://townnews.atevo.com/resources/tipsadvice/item/0%2C3742%2C2602%2C00.html

emily_the_spoiled
03-18-2003, 10:35 AM
Good luck with the flight!! Please let us know how she did. I have been thinking about taking my cats with me the next time I fly home. But that flight is only about 8 hours, so it is not quite as bad as 18...

Edwina's Secretary
03-18-2003, 10:58 AM
Here's a recent thread about this....

Moving with Pets (http://petoftheday.com/talk/showthread.php?s=&threadid=19760)

rosethecopycat
03-18-2003, 11:13 AM
I flew with my RB Milo once. He was in the cabin. It was pretty hard on him, sedated and all. But he did recover. I decided that the long car ride was easier on him, so our return was by car.

As far as the 'under the plane' thing goes, I was never confident with the airlines, that the temperature is maintained. I know that thousands of pets are transported that way, but none of them can tell you how it was. We have to take the word of airline employees.

I'd feel the temp of the carrier by hand and feel the cat right away.

I don't mean to scare you.

Why can't he fly in the cabin?

I'm sure he'll be fine.

Ally Cat's Mommy
03-19-2003, 12:22 AM