PDA

View Full Version : Help!! My cat eats MATERIAL!!

NaplesLex
12-30-2002, 09:48 AM
Hello there. This is my first time here. (I just copied this post from the "behavior' section) Here is the problem with my cat:

I always joke around that Zeke is more like a dog. He barks. He chews stuff (leather, books, etc. whatever he can wrap his mouth around) Well he also EATS MATERIAL! Literally, eats it. He takes my socks and chews HUGE holes in them! and then swallows the material! He's NOT hungry, I feed him plenty. He always eats as fast as he can. So I feed him twice a day only, the recommended amount. He weighs about 12 pounds and MIGHT be a little over weight. If I leave clothing folded on the dryer, he TAKES it drags it to the front door, and chews a hole in it. I left my closet door open and he dragged out a few socks from in there (I didn't realize that was where he had been getting them from lately) I had my duffel bag in there from since halloween and there were gym socks and halloween socks in there. So he has eaten them.

I try my hardest to keep them put away in the drawer or whatever. I can't leave ANYTHING out. He has been doing this for about a year. It started with my shoes about 3 years ago, (biting the leather) then went to books 2 years ago and then went to socks 1 year ago. I keep putting stuff away but now I can't even leave a book lying about because he will bite into it.

I have a cat Jordy, who has been with me for over 3 years. I got Jordy right after I got Zeke. No problems there. I just got a new kitten last week, but this has nothing to do with the new kitten as I've had her only one week and he's been doing this now for a few years. Nothing else different has happened. Same food, same litter, same everything. He does it when I'm here and when I'm not. Whenever he finds something, he eats it whether I'm sitting right here or not.