PDA

View Full Version : New Year's Eve/Day

Karen
12-28-2014, 09:44 PM
What are your plans and traditions around this holiday? I know some places have fireworks, Boston does a big First Night Celebration, though we have not been. I feel bad for the ice sculptors this year, as it has been unseasonably warm! We first met at a New Year's Eve party, but do not go out that night anymore!

cassiesmom
12-28-2014, 11:54 PM
Evanston, Illinois has a First Night celebration. The early evening is structured for families with young kids, and they do a "mini countdown" I think at 6 or 7 PM. In the evening there's live music. I'm not a fan of New Year's Eve - when I was a staff nurse I usually had to work, which was okay with me. On New Year's Day we're invited to my cousins' house (parents, siblings and me) for part of the afternoon. We did this last year and it worked out great- sandwiches, cookies, brownies and family time.

Taz_Zoee
12-29-2014, 10:50 AM
No tradition for New Years here. In fact, I'd rather stay home and off the streets anyway. I just have to convince him of that. Plus, Zeplyn doesn't like fireworks, and there will definitely be some of that after midnight. I haven't discussed it with Bruce yet. But I hope to just stay home and ring in the new year with my fur family.

Randi
12-29-2014, 01:38 PM
On New Years Eve, most people have a good meal and dessert with famiily and/or friends and party the night away. Some goes to a Bar or restaurant. At 24:00, after having Champaigne and Kransekage, many go down and shoot off fireworks - and it's loud! There's always some that have bombs that aren't legal. :mad: Some drag Christmas trees out and set them on fire over in the park.

Many also watch the short movie called "Dinner for one" or 90-years Birthday, which is on TV every year. Here's a link, there are many more: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOHurRzt8Xk