PDA

View Full Version : ohio cruelty laws

joycenalex
12-13-2002, 06:07 AM
will increase! the ohio house and senate sent to gov. taft SB221,(full text @ www.legislature.state.oh.us, SB221 ) in which there are proposed changes that will, among other provisions, increase the fine from $100 to $750, 90 days or both. when i called the governors office yesterday to tell them that i was for SB221, the call took all of 3 minutes. the aide didn't even ask if i was an ohio resident. the govenors phone number is 614-466-3335 9-5 est. thank you, joyce

moosmom
12-13-2002, 06:48 AM
Joyce,

With all due respect, while I think it's great that they're raising the fine and jail time, it's still not enough.

Most states now make animal cruelty a FELONY offense with a maximum 5 years in jail and $5,000 fine. Monsters to do horrible things to animals should pay be held responsible for their crimes. To me, that law in Ohio is nothing more than a slap on the wrist.

Logan
12-13-2002, 07:39 AM
It's better than nothing...............at least they are attempting to make the penalty harsher. I hope it will pass, Joyce.

Cinder & Smoke
12-13-2002, 03:07 PM
We in Ohio may be coming out of the Dark Ages and be starting to take Animal Cruelty more seriously.
It's about time! :mad:

The link Joyce gave won't work for me, but I've found some that seem to work and give information on the legislation. Best I can tell is that both the Ohio Senate and House have passed the same bill (SB 221) and it is now in a Clerk's Office being prepared for submission to Governor Taft. He has 10 business days, after he receives it, to sign it into law; not act upon it and allow it to become law without his signature; or veto it.

Links with Information on SB 221, titled "Companion Animal Abuse/Humane Agent Training", can be found at:

Summary of SB 221 - a readable explanation of the Bill's Provisions (http://lsc.state.oh.us/analyses/ans124.nsf/All%20Senate%20Bills%20and%20Resolutions/559e)