PDA

View Full Version : ohio cruelty laws

joycenalex
12-13-2002, 06:00 AM
are going to be increased. the ohio house and senate have sent to gov. taft SB221 (full text @ www.legislature.state.oh.us, SB221). the current law is a $100 fine. the change would be a $750 fine, 90 days or both. govenor tafts' office needs to hear for the animal lover community that he should sign this bill. the phone call took me all of 3 minutes. the aide didn't even ask if i was an ohio resident. the number is 614-466-3335, 9-5 est. thank you

lizbud
12-13-2002, 11:01 AM
joycenalex,

I live in Indiana, but I'll definately make the call if you
think it would influence the Gov. to sign the bill.Is Gov.
Taft running for re-election soon? It's some progress that
that the bill made it through both house & senate. I couldn't
get the link to open so I didn't read the text of the bill, but
I hope the wording doesn't cause any problems getting it
signed into law. Would be a great step for Ohio's animal
lovers.

Cincy'sMom
12-13-2002, 04:06 PM
I do hope Gov. Taft signs the bill and I will call. Unfortunatly, Gov. Taft has turned his back on the animals before. A request was made this past fall for him to offically declare Oct. 13-19 ohio's week for the animals, sponsored by the Ohio Humane Education (http://www.ohiohumaneeducation.org/) Association. I admit I don't know all the details, but in talking with the Lucas county rep to this group, she was led to believe he would do this, then about a month prior refused to do so. Hopefully this time he will come through. (Ohio residents can sign a petetition for this bill at the site I posted above.)

Cinder & Smoke
12-13-2002, 04:35 PM
Originally posted by Cinder & Smoke
on Pet General "Ohio Cruelty Laws" (http://PetoftheDay.com/talk/showthread.php?s=&threadid=18444)

We in Ohio may be coming out of the Dark Ages and be starting to take Animal Cruelty more seriously.
It's about time! :mad: