PDA

View Full Version : Cats, Christmas Trees, Presents ???

Chinadoll
12-09-2002, 02:19 PM
Since this is my first year with the kittens and the Christmas Tree, I have a question for you vetrans. The kittens are doing much better than I thought with the tree. No one has climbed it yet and it's still standing. Every year I do really elaborate wrapping and bows for my presents(I'm that weird crafty person that loves making the bows...sometimes I think I spend more on the wrapping and ribbon for the bows than the presents) I just have this feeling that if I put these presents under the tree that the kittens will destroy them. They use the tree as a racing loop for chasing each other. I'm thinking of displaying the presents on a table they can't get to as opposed to the traditional under the tree. Do y'all's cats bother the presents or leave them alone? I just have this feeling that with all of them being kittens that curiosity will get the better of them.

trinity
12-09-2002, 02:31 PM
Oh boy...my big guy (6 years old or so)likes the stick on bows. He picks them up before they are on the packages and runs with them. If they are already on a package the sticky stuff doesn't stand a chance. He pulls it off...and runs with it. Fortunately I have cat-loving friends who understand the teeth marks on their bows. Zingo, who is a little less than two likes the curly ribbon. I wrapped a present and then set it down and turned my back. The next thing I hear is "thump,thump,thump" as Zing drags it across the floor. Maybe just put non-breakables within their reach :D

NoahsMommy
12-09-2002, 03:00 PM
I would steer clear of any type of ribbon....we bought bows only this year so the presents would stand a chance. :) (hopefully) :D

NoahsMommy
12-09-2002, 03:03 PM
Originally posted by trinity
Fortunately I have cat-loving friends who understand the teeth marks on their bows.
Our family and friends have come to expect little teeth marks on the paper and ribbon... :) Too funny!