PDA

View Full Version : My Experienced Cat People, Help is needed.

Andie
12-12-2012, 05:02 PM
Since Amanda won't start this for herself I'll do it for her. My SIL recently adopted a 2-3 year old kitty (Gracie) as her very first cat ever. I am usually her cat person to ask questions to but I am not experienced with this problem..... Hairballs.

She needs to know the best foods/tricks to prevent them.

Thanks in advance from the shy one AKA AmandaC

P.S. Here's Gracie :D

Karen
12-12-2012, 08:56 PM
Regular brushing is key, as the more dead hair you remove, the less kitty will ingest. Some cats are prone to them, other never get them. A good diet will also help, and there are "hairball preventative" treats and foods out there ...

Edwina's Secretary
12-12-2012, 09:07 PM
Gracie looks to be an adorable short haired cat. Neither Edwina or Eddie has EVER had a hairball! As Karen said - brushing helps.

Freedom
12-12-2012, 09:09 PM
Hello Gracie!

Hairballs are not normal! A proper diet will prevent them. A high quality food, grain free, is best. I will give you a few, with the links; you can use the links to find a place near you to buy them.

Dry kibble:
Earthborn Holistics: careful, only 2 of their formulas are grain free, be sure to get one of those 2
http://www.earthbornholisticpetfood.com/us/cat_formulas/

Taste of the Wild: they list the canine formulas first, and then the feline ones; just keep scrolling down
http://www.tasteofthewildpetfood.com/products/

Canned / Wet food
Tiki Cat
http://www.petropics.com/

Weruva
http://www.weruva.com/

Fussie Cat: web site is down, facebook is here: https://www.facebook.com/FussieCat?ref=ts&fref=ts

Canned should be fed every other day.

Amanda C
12-12-2012, 09:44 PM
Hey there, thanks for all the advise. She is our first cat. Although we have 4 dogs and a sugar glider. All the dogs are on a grain free food. They'd be on a raw diet if we could afford it for all of them!