PDA

View Full Version : Shelter volunteer report from Spain!

sirocco
11-26-2002, 09:09 AM
Hello everybody! As some of you may know, last months have been a bit messy for me, but now it is all over, and I am fit again to be in here!!! :)
These last months have not only been tough but have also provided me with some great new things, and one of them has been joining a shelter as a volunteer!! I've been working there for 2 months and I've been able to give 3 cats in adoption so far!! (and that is quite a success here)
The shelter has both dogs and cats, but there was only one elder person in charge of the cats, so I can say my help there is quite needed. This woman takes care of the cats very very well, but she has not been able to find people to adopt the cats lately. At the risk of make myself avoided by all my acquaintances, I've made the sentence "Would you like to adopt a cat?" as my motto, everytime I'm introduced to new people! ;) :D I have also started to publish some pics of the lovely furkids we have there in the Internet, in some Spanish web sites devoted to adoptions. Next step is controlling more closely their health, but that will take a bit longer (all the cats are fine, but I'd like to set up a vet record for everyone of them!)

But, now, the part you all are waiting for! :) :) PICS!!!!

This is Greta, a lovely little girl a friend of mine (Nacho ;) ) adopted last Saturday. She is MOST affectionate and I'm glad she'll live now surrounded by people - she loves humans!!!

As you can see in the picture, she´s up my shoulders - and that's her favourite way of greeting you!! :) She's the climbing type...

sirocco
11-26-2002, 09:14 AM
And this is another one who was adopted last Saturday (by another nice guy!). The cat is called Cabezón what means Big Head not only because he´s a big boy indeed but also because he loves giving headbumpies!!

sirocco
11-26-2002, 09:19 AM