PDA

View Full Version : Too soon???

Cookiebaker
11-25-2002, 07:58 PM
In case you missed it, we lost our very dear Azure-birdie last Wednesday evening. :( Now I'm in a muddle because we are thinking of getting another bird. Rilla is so lonely now, and doesn't sing very much. She's just kind of sitting there like a bump on a log. Is it too soon to be thinking of getting another?? I'm so torn...I'm not sure that I am ready, but is that being selfish??

TheAntiPam
11-25-2002, 08:19 PM
I'm far from a bird expert, but I would think that getting a companion bird for your Rilla would be a high priority. Maybe someone more experienced can say for sure. Lonely animals don't fare very well, in my humble opinion.

As for the human factor - There is no perfect waiting time after the loss of a beloved friend. If circumstances indicate you need get a bird, then go right ahead. The love you show a new birdie will be a reflection of all that love you got from Azure.

Don't get caught up in "should" or "shouldn't" - listen to your Rilla's needs - and you'll do the right thing.

Best wishes to all that miss Azure!

anna_66
11-25-2002, 08:22 PM
I think if you feel like your ready, then you are. Some people need another pet right away & other don't. If you feel like it's time, get another!

Vermontcat
11-25-2002, 09:22 PM
Cookiebaker, how long have you had your two birds together?
If you had your Azure bird first and Rilla has never been an only bird I am sure he is missing his feathered friend.
Does Rilla perk up for you when you interact with him now or not at all?
I would say if not for you, but for your bird go ahead and get a new bird. I think that a new feathered friend may perk up your lonely bird.
I have a feeling that Popcornbird will also tell you to get a new birdie.;)

Uabassoon
11-25-2002, 09:34 PM