PDA

View Full Version : stuffed kongs! oh boy!

kobieeli
08-14-2001, 12:25 AM
Just to get something new started in this portion of PetTalk...

I wondered how many of you have dogs that love to unpack Kong toys that're filled with treats--either for fun or as a meal. If your dog digs this, what's his or her favorite stuffing recipe? How long does s/he take to clean it out?

Our ACD mix is far too serious to enjoy such frivolity, but our Australian Shepherd loves Kongs! I'm a novice Kong stuffer myself, so any new ideas would be great. Eli's favorite stuffing is raw baby carrots held inside with peanut butter and cottage cheese. Mmmmmm! (Kibble or biscuits are too easy for him to remove; he knows to just toss the Kong and let the pieces bounce out.)

Care to share your recipes and tips? :p

Angels3
08-14-2001, 03:27 AM
I recently saw an article in a magazine that had tips & instructions on how to stuff a kong. I'll see if I can find it & pass on the ideas.

carrie
08-14-2001, 06:05 AM
The Kong is the saviour of many a dog's sanity and one or two owners too!
For easy things to get out like biscuit pour on some water, almost to the top of the Kong and freeze it. Gravy and plain yogurt are good too and they love it on a hot day. If you usually feed canned food stuff the Kong and freeze!

[ August 14, 2001: Message edited by: carrie ]

joycenalex
08-14-2001, 06:21 AM
kong stuffing treats here are bananas, apple or pear slices,or oven dried out liver'jerky' strips held in by peanut butter. i've wedged crunchy dog biscuits into the top part of the kong then wedged a baby carrot the opposite way to hold it in place.
i started giving alex the wonder dog the kong as a puppy so he'd focus on the treat/food rather then me leaving. ;)

3-greys-and-a-mutt
08-14-2001, 08:03 AM