PDA

View Full Version : Do you bathe your cat?

CrazyCat
09-12-2012, 08:21 AM
Do you bathe your cat? If so, how often?

Litterati
09-12-2012, 08:32 AM
Meaning that he keeps his silver grey tabby coat immaculate by grooming himself with his tongue. I'm no expert, but my understanding was that baring certain circumstances such as: the cat is too old to care for him/herself; that cat has long matted fur and needs a groomer's attention; the cat gets sprayed by a skunk or into some other mess, they don't need regular baths, as opposed to for example a dog. My cat is indoor only, maybe this makes a difference.

Freedom
09-12-2012, 08:51 AM
Back when I only had cats, I did give them baths, every other month. And I'd change my bed that day too (the bed got changed more often, of course!) I was having lots of allergies and thought the cats were part of that.

Got dogs, a breed which needs regular bathing, and the cats sighed with relief, ha hahaaa.

After 4 years I discovered my allergic reaction was due to my laundry detergent! I had used Tide for EVER! One of the dogs was also having major issues and finally I tracked it down to the Tide. I now use a "free" detergent, from Whole Foods. Or use soap nuts, they are wonderful.

So my cats haven't have baths since December 2006.

Lady's Human
09-12-2012, 09:37 AM
Given Patch's reaction to baths, nope.

I prefer to keep my skin intact and the blood INSIDE my capillaries, thank you.

Cowgirlannie82
09-12-2012, 09:37 AM
Wow, that's awesome you found what you are allergic to. My husband's lip would randomly swell up. I mean he looked like Sabastion off of the Little Mermaid, of course he is the dork I married and sings the songs like Sabastion. Its hilarious. Anyway, his mom thought it was Star causing his lip to swell. (Cat hater) and come to find out, it was my lovely perfume that he loved so much. I quit wearing it and his lip hasn't swelled up again.