PDA

View Full Version : Worried about one of my snakes. :(

snakemama
11-26-2011, 01:51 PM
My little champagne lady regurgitated a meal last night. This might not sound like a big deal to non snake people....dogs and cats vomit occasionally and it's not necessarily a big deal, right? But for some reason, snakes tend to vomit up a LOT of their gut flora and have a tough time recovering. Even one regurgitated meal can be a BIG deal for a snake.

I've been lucky...I've had snakes for sixteen years and haven't had this happen before. At the same time, because I have no experience with this, I'm freaking out perhaps more than is really necessary. I'm ordering a jar of nutribac probiotics to help restore her gut flora (At least one very experienced herper has theorized that repeated regurges can be the result of overgrowth of yeast in the gut resulting from the ergular flora being depleted) and I'll be taking feedings very carefully for the next few months. Half-sized meals and such...working up to a regular feeding schedule SLOWLY.

Anyways, just wanted to rant a little, because I'm freaking out a bit...I'm very fond of my little lady and I don't want anything to happen to her.

http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb152/cebogart/My%20Snakes/Mirasol/005.jpg?t=1318145174
Yes yes, this picture is terrible. I have an awful time getting pics of her because she's ACTIVE and TINY so I don't want her shooting off every time I take my hand off of her.

Karen
11-26-2011, 03:09 PM
Aww, poor little thing! What's her name? I did not know that about snakes and their gut flora!

snakemama
11-26-2011, 03:18 PM