PDA

View Full Version : Paypal - get verified - questions

kuhio98
10-15-2011, 11:41 AM
I've evidently reached some spending limit so Paypal tells me that I need to get "verified". To do that, they want me to attach my bank account to my PayPal account or get a PayPal credit card.

I don't want to do either of these. Do you know if there is anyway to continue to use Paypal without giving them access to your bank account?

Those of you who have given them access, have you ever experienced any problems?

pomtzu
10-15-2011, 12:02 PM
It was genuinely from Paypal, and not a scam - right??? I'm always getting spoof mail from the scammers claiming to be Paypal, saying I need to update all my info for security reasons, etc. Yeah - sure! :rolleyes:

Anyway - I keep no balance in my Paypal account, and they do have my checking account info. It works like a debit card - when I pay for something thru PP, that amount is decucted from my checking account. I have been doing this for several years now, and I've never had a problem yet.

Karen
10-15-2011, 01:31 PM
As Pomtzu said - make sure, first of all, that it really is PayPal contacting you. I get spam - some of it cleverly done - claiming to be from PayPal all the time. Check the headers to make sure of its origin.

kuhio98
10-15-2011, 04:42 PM
Thanks everyone. Yes, I'm sure it's really PayPal. I called them on the phone to make sure and spoke for quite a while about alternatives.

I am just not comfortable with giving them access to my bank account. And I don't want transactions going through my bank account. I prefer everything to be on my credit card.

So, it looks like I'll canceling my Paypal account. :( Will make it harder to purchase things, but my Paypal account has been hijacked before and I had the support of my credit card company to get the charges reversed. I wouldn't have that if they got into my checking account.

pomtzu
10-15-2011, 04:54 PM