PDA

View Full Version : Irritating Dental Visit

Freedom
05-08-2011, 02:56 PM
Been stewing about this since THURSDAY!

Had my 6 month cleaning appt at 9:40 AM. I've been using this dentist for 8 years, and had the same hygenist all that time. "Jean" is always running late, she is KNOWN for this. Usually she is about 20 to 25 minutes late. Her cleanings are "thorough." Jean books her 40 minute cleaning appts every hour. I was the third one.

At 10:30, I went up to the reception desk to reschedule. What with one person ahead of me, and the phones ringing, Jean came out for me while I was waiting. I told her I couldn't stay. "You don't have 40 minutes available?" Um, no. So I go again on Tuesday, when I am now her SECOND appt.

Her next appt after me was already sitting in the waiting room, he arrived a bit early for his 10:40 appt. So he likely went in on time, with me leaving.

This is the 2d time I have done this, in the past 3 years. (Rescheduled and left) There are other hygenists in the office, and I am seriously considering switching to one of them. They sometimes -- SOMETIMES - run 5 minutes late. I've been told by Jean AND BY THEM that my mouth won't feel the same way after they have done a cleaning.

So I spent 45 minutes plus, watching the Today show and Regis and Kelly, at the dentist office, got "free" movie passes to a cinema that is no where near by (they have started doing this for Jean's clients apparently), and returned home to start lunch for Dad and I. I was and still am very irritated.

Now, Dad has one doc who is also a surgeon, sometimes on call at the hospital, and his appointments may run late if he has a surgery come in from the ER and can't leave in time to start his office appts. Even that is a some time thing. With Jean, it is every freaking time!

Was I wrong to leave? STILL steamed about this, grrrrr.

K9karen
05-08-2011, 04:25 PM