PDA

View Full Version : Any recommendations on a laptop?

Pembroke_Corgi
01-13-2011, 01:51 PM
I think it's time for a new computer. I'm a grad student plus I do work from home when I get projects. One place I work for is an education company where I score tests, and their software only works for a PC, otherwise I might lean towards a mac (except they are so pricey!). I also need MS word and I own a copy for a pc but not mac.

Right now I have a cheap Dell and it has all kind of quirks. The battery is totally worthless now and the power source keeps going out, sometimes when it's plugged in. The original power cord is broken, and the replacement seems to have stopped working.

Preferably I'd like to spend less than $650, but I would be willing to spend more for something that would last a long time. Also, this thing will get taken along nearly everywhere and occasionally banged on by my daughter, so it has to be sturdy!

Any suggestions on a good laptop? Thanks in advance for any input!!

Suki Wingy
01-13-2011, 01:58 PM
I know next to nothing about PCs as I have been a Mac user since I was little but good luck!

Alysser
01-13-2011, 03:24 PM
I have had dells for as long as I can remember, all I can say is...never again. I had a Sony Vaio that was half decent till the battery went and it needed to be connected to the charger at all times. Oh and until Mikey jumped on it, but that's another story and it was all my fault really. But at the time, it was five years old. I now have a Macbook, and I don't think I'd ever go back to a PC. I LOVE it! I haven't had any problems. It's really nice not to worry about getting viruses from everything on the web. I know they're expensive but they're really really good and I have never heard of anyone having major issues that I personally know. I am sure there are plenty of bad stories about Macs on the internet, I guess it just depends on the person.