PDA

View Full Version : What kind of dog should I get next?

Roxyluvsme13
11-01-2010, 02:52 PM
Alright, nobody freak out first of all. :p

I'm just starting super early research into what kind of dog I'm going to get in the future.

It's definitely going to be a good 2-3 years before I have an apartment or somewhere I can keep the dog and everything I just want to go ahead and research my options.

The dog will definitely live inside and I want to be able to feed it either raw or something high quality. I think I'm going to rescue the dog, a puppy would be nice, but I'd settle for whatever.

I've been thinking a lot about the breeds that I'd want and I'm really leaning towards a Pit Bull. I know, they are a handful and everything, so if you have one, can you please give me some general advice on the breed and some things that you think I should know?

Also, I'm open to other suggestions on breeds. Something that would suit a city lifestyle. I'm a college student, so take that into consideration too.

Just wanted everyone's opinions. :) Thanks!

Freedom
11-01-2010, 03:12 PM
I've not owned a pitte, but have known quite a few. Some can grow very large, like the one in Willy's class just now!

I would plan that your expenses will include obedience classes if you get ANY bully breed, just to be safe.

Oh, and many cities have passed breed specific legislation, so you can't even OWN a bully breed. Then, if the city allows it, the landlord may not.

Many landlords who do allow dogs often limit you to a 35 pounds maximum.

Just things to ponder!

Roxyluvsme13
11-01-2010, 03:15 PM
I've not owned a pitte, but have known quite a few. Some can grow very large, like the one in Willy's class just now!

I would plan that your expenses will include obedience classes if you get ANY bully breed, just to be safe.

Oh, and many cities have passed breed specific legislation, so you can't even OWN a bully breed. Then, if the city allows it, the landlord may not.