PDA

View Full Version : The Shelter tricked me - Pics included

wanwan1007
06-03-2010, 08:27 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Pet Talk. My name is Wanda. My husband and I adopted a 4 month old puppy from the shelter on 2/26/2010. The shelter told us he was an Alaskan Malamute. Well, I don't think he is an Alaskan Malamute. His name is Tippy. He is the funniest dog with so much personality. Of course it doesn't really matter what he is anymore because he's just mine I love him but I'm curious as to what you think he might be. I'll tell you what my vet thought after I hear your views. I don't want to influence your opinion :D

We had him about 6 weeks when these pics were taken.

wanwan1007
06-03-2010, 08:35 PM
These pics are in the backyard and the breakfast nook where he loves to lay out.

amberlynn
06-03-2010, 09:20 PM
i totally agree with you i dont think that he is alaska malamute...to me he looks more like a collie mix but i cant wait to hear what your vet says i will be waiting

Freedom
06-03-2010, 09:37 PM
Collie mix for sure! Those ears, that muzzle, what a cute face!

What is his name?

Grace
06-03-2010, 09:40 PM
He's adorable. I'm not knowledgeable about breeds, but I would guess collie mix, also. His hair is so soft and silky looking.

chocolatepuppy
06-03-2010, 10:01 PM
Shepherd/Collie mix??? Whatever he is, he sure is CUTE!!!:love:

luvofallhorses
06-03-2010, 10:38 PM
I don't think they tricked you. Some shelters don't know how to identify a breed.. and can only make the best guess and I know that because I work at a shelter. I would guess shepherd/collie as well. Beautiful. :love:

He looks like Bacall a beautiful girl who we listed as shepherd/golden retriever. She probably had some sort of collie in her as well. She got a wonderful home and had an amazing personality!
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o312/houndlicious/dogcatpix015.jpg

Karen
06-03-2010, 11:41 PM