PDA

View Full Version : Faith?

DJFyrewolf36
04-11-2010, 04:15 PM
I am having somewhat of a crisis...
Some of the people Ive seen post on facebook are really making question faith in general. I know what I believe but listening to people spout off scientifc "proof" that can't be backed up makes me sad. People are so sure science is always right and that expirements are honest and unbaised and that isn't true. The problem is is that I don't have science on my side in fact science has worked very hard at disproving my core beliefs. How honest can something be when the purpose is to prove something else wrong?
*sigh* thanks for listening.

Catty1
04-11-2010, 04:35 PM
I found a perfect blend of those two sides in a quote from Einstein: "God does not play dice with the universe." ;)

Two weeks from today I am going to attend a Unitarian service in Calgary. I love the community in the church I have been attending for some 10 years, but because of certain things that I never have been able to believe and doubt I ever will, I feel spiritually stunted and unable to grow.

Even if - IF - the Big Bang theory is the correct one, there are immense and huge immutable laws at work, the laws of physics being one example. Evolution of various species is another huge force - why the more religious human beings don't equate this huge force with the power of "God's creation" puzzles me. It is two ways of saying the same thing, IMO.

The nature of science is to break down and deconstruct. This is analysis. I don't think people think science is always "right"; if they do, they need be reminded that all experiments start with a hypothesis (remember middle school science class? ;) ).

My own opinion is that NO ONE knows all the truth, all the time, and that we as a human race do our best to move forward with what we have and know, and learn more as we go forward.

Science is an honest effort to discover truth. But rarely does it prove anything as such, with abstract theories.