PDA

View Full Version : Aunt Bertha Day!

Karen
04-07-2010, 03:34 PM
You all know I am a rememberer of people and birthdays, and today is Aunt Bertha Day in my head. She was a great lover of animals, and today's Dog of the Day is a beagle, as she had several beagle - or beagle mixes in her life, as well a big orange fluffy kitty, about beagle-sized himself!

Aunt Bertha was my Great Aunt - she was the youngest woman in her generation, and my mother the eldest of the next generation, so they were always buddies. Besides, Aunt Bertha was the one person my mother could point out that she was taller than, as we kids grew past her.

Aunt Bertha was everything one would picture with that name - short, grey curls, glasses, soft and loving - intent on making sure everyone - human and animal alike, ate well. A mathematician by trade, she was good at numbers until her death. She passed away several years ago, but today would have been her 105th birthday. She especially relished the years when Easter happened before her birthday, because as a child, she was not allowed a party of cake during Lent.

So hug someone today, and have dessert, in memory and honor of Aunt Bertha!

Cinder & Smoke
04-07-2010, 04:31 PM
So hug someone today, and have dessert, in memory and honor of Aunt Bertha!

OK, Auntie Bertha ...

Three FurKid {{{HUGGS}}} have been delivered ...

Lil earlie fur Desert ... but nuffin is imossible ... < searches fridge > ...
NO Birfday cakes to be found :(

HI HO!! - Lookie what's in the pantry cupboard ...
< dusts off ancient package > ... "Instant BROWNIE Mix" ... That'll do!

We'll do the Birfday Browie rite after din-din ... SOMEwhere I've got a stash
of Kandils ... prolly NOT 105 of 'em, but ONE otta give us the proper effect.

HAPPIE B-Day, Auntie Bertha!!
:D :love:

Karen
04-07-2010, 04:32 PM