PDA

View Full Version : Killing of animals as a stylistic device in books and movies

Kirsten
10-01-2009, 09:49 AM
This is something that always makes me cringe. Whenever there's an animal mentioned in a thriller, especially if it's one the "good" character likes, you can almost be sure that at some point in the story, it's going to be killed. Im most cases, the description of this cruelty is very graphic and detailed. So happened in the book I'm currently reading, Stieg Larsson's "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo", where a cat found a horrible death. I had actually planned to see the movie, too; but now I probably won't.

It always hurts my feelings so bad when this happens in a book or movie, and I think there should be warnings on the cover.

What do you think?

I swear if I was an author (and I used to write a bit when I was younger), the animals in my stories would always be safe!

Kirsten

Barbara
10-01-2009, 10:05 AM
I know exactly what you mean.
To show that the bad ones are really bad they start up with having them killing a cat. I have stopped to read several books because of this. It makes me sick.
That may be one of the reasons why I only read nice old-fashioned detective stories like the Mma Ramotswe stories by Alexander McCall Smith.
Whatever is called thriller these days is by far too horrible for me.

Kirsten
10-01-2009, 10:14 AM
I agree. Some of these old-time stories with their subtle horrors can be eerie and entertaining as well.

It seems the killing of animals is something that happens too often in these stories of today. Whenever a pet is mentioned in a thriller, or a crime story, I'm beginning to fear for it - but in most cases, it's going to find a horrible end. Like the cat in the Stieg Larsson story I'm just reading. It's sad, because so far, I really liked the book and couldn't stop reading. But now I need a break! :(

Kirsten

Randi
10-01-2009, 10:52 AM