PDA

View Full Version : One of the greatest presents EVER!

Casper
09-16-2009, 08:02 PM
A dog that is very near and dear to me is on his way to a happy ending!

Since the first day I started volunteering at the pound there has always been this big, beautiful yellow lab to greet me with all the slobbery kisses I could ever want. I was not sure how long he had been there before I began volunteering, but I have been volunteering for nearly six months now. He has perfect manners (besides not being potty trained) and has always gotten along great with the other dogs, but no one ever adopted him. He is heartworm positive, and that was a turn-off for the few people that inquired about him.

Keep in mind that the pound I volunteer at is a terrible place for any dog to live. We have a great AC officer now, but we receive absolutely no help from the city, therefore having no funds to help animals like I would like. Dogs are lucky to last a month there before getting covered in ticks or succumbing to illness (they also are in danger of being PTS if it gets too crowded). Luckily the AC officer grew very attached to this dog!

Finally.. FINALLY we were contacted by someone we work with in rescue that knew of a lab rescue that would probably take him and another yellow lab at the pound. After seeing their pictures the rescue has agreed to take them in and give HW treatment to my big, yellow friend. I am not a very emotional person, but I still have trouble holding back the tears of happiness when thinking about how this dog is finally getting the second chance he deserves.

This morning both boys were neutered, updated on shots, and given flea dips. They were ready to go this evening so we transported them an hour away to a rescue. Here are a few pictures I took during the ride.

http://i652.photobucket.com/albums/uu247/Biscuits_and_Tea/IMG_3509.jpg