PDA

View Full Version : Introducing 3 cats (to eachother!)

Piglet
09-27-2002, 04:57 AM
Hi everyone,

just wanted to let you know how the move went. We've been in the new appartment for about two weeks now, but I haven't really had time to post, because there's still a lot to be done (more painting and unpacking) and I also started a new parttime job at Lush (a really nice store that sells handmade bathing and skincare products). And I keep forgetting that I'm still a student and have to get started on my final paper. :(

But that's enough about me, let me tell you about my new three-cat household! Piglet (my tabby cat) and Wissel (boyfriend's tuxedo cat) met the day after we moved, they were in seperate rooms and we opened the doors to see what would happen. There were puffy tails and some hissing, but fortunately no fight. The big shock for both these ladies came the next day in the shape of a three month old cream coloured kitten named Toby (formerly Teddy, but I decided Toby suits him better), that we finally brought home. He was the last of the litter to leave and his mom really misses him.
Toby had no trouble adjusting to his new home and was playing with all the mousies within two minutes. The next day all three cats met and Toby and Piglet had a staring competition. Things were left undecided, but there's tension every time they meet (especially on the stairs). I think it will take a while before they get along. Wissel is ok with everything and sort of keeps to herself, although my boyfriend did observe her licking Toby's head when they were sleeping on the couch.

I think Piglet thinks she's in charge because she's by far the biggest of the three (but for how long?). Toby's dominant behaviour might be caused by his Turkish Angora genes. I took him to the vet for his shots and a check up and she thought he was fourteen weeks old and was very surprised when I told her it was twelve. He's 1,9 kilo's now and will be a BIG cat when he's all grown up.