PDA

View Full Version : Car trouble - question

Taz_Zoee
02-04-2009, 12:38 PM
Ok, back in Oct or Nov I noticed my car smelling like coolant inside when I turn the temp gauge from cold to hot and the fan is on.
In Dec I took it to a place and they replaced the water pump (which I just had replaced in Sept of 2007). A week later I still could smell coolant so I took it back and he checked it. This time he said I need to replace the valve cover gasket and its leaking oil.
Umm...ok, I'm not a mechanic but I do know oil does NOT smell like coolant.
I did not let him do any further work on my car because he lost my confidence in him.
My car is currently at a tire shop getting new tires and I asked them if they could take a look to see why I smell coolant. He said everything is tight, no leaks and looks good.
So why am I still smelling coolant!?!?! The tire place said there is coolant still on things and it may still be burning off. NO, I don't believe that because it's been like 5 or 6 weeks since the water pump was replaced.
I still do not have an answer and it still smells like coolant. :(

Does anyone have any ideas as to what may be wrong??
Oh, it is a 2004 VW Jetta 1.8 Turbo.

Thanks!

Catty1
02-04-2009, 12:43 PM
I'd think a leak in your radiator, or even in the container that holds the overflow.

Ask specifically for them to check the rad. It might be worth taking to a rad shop (often they have inspection specials on - check your BBB or ask your friends for a good one) to save you more $ in the long run.

Check your former mechanic on the BBB as well...would be interesting to see what their rating is.

Husky_mom
02-04-2009, 12:45 PM
that is really weird... it should not smell like that... i mean if they placed new parts they should be CLEAN.. so unless you have a leak and they havenīt noticed..... (like in a hose that goes right to your vents)...

my other guess is something inside the car was "stained"... like the carpets wehn they move it around or something...