PDA

View Full Version : Help! I'm nervous to give notice to my employer...

Pembroke_Corgi
05-14-2008, 10:01 AM
I'm almost done with my Master's in Education and I'm going to be student teaching starting in August (1st grade!). I'm not technically quitting my job, as I will be keeping one night a week to teach piano lessons, but I will need to find a replacement for about 35 students.

I'm worried because my boss loves to be dramatic and act like it will be impossible to find a replacement...a teacher had to leave with only 6 students and she was very stressed. I also want to keep all my students until I have to leave, since I need the money and I also love all my students and I am actually quite sad that I have to leave them, so I'm worried she will replace me too soon.

How much notice should I give and what do I tell her? Help, please!!!

Pawsitive Thinking
05-14-2008, 10:33 AM
Can you talk to her about it - tell her what you have told us and offer to help find a replacement

kitten645
05-14-2008, 11:31 AM
I've seen similar situations and my suggestion is give two weeks notice. No more or you are sure to be replaced sooner rather than later. Two weeks is the correct notice. Be proactive in finding a replacement. Offer to do interviews etc. Teach your replacement as much as you can for a smooth transition. Hey, life changes! :cool: Anyone who expects someone to continue on the same job till they retire is not living in the real world. :rolleyes:
If there is drama and stress, just remind yourself its HER drama...HER stress. You are moving on. Good luck!:p

MoonandBean
05-14-2008, 12:21 PM