PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated....

beeniesmom
03-19-2008, 04:58 PM
GGrrrr!!!!

I have been actively looking for a admin/clerical job for about 3 months now.

I've had 4 interviews from about 15 applications I've faxed, emailed and mailed.

Among the interviews, I was the top choice for 3 of the jobs.

The problem.... They won't hire me because I'm too expensive. :eek:

That is I won't work for less than 12 dollars an hour. I've had offers for 8 bucks an hr and one for 10 bucks an hr (they still are deciding).

I am currently making much more than 12 and have been for over 10 years.

What the hell is going on here. I know we are in a bad economy right now but I refuse to work for peanuts. It makes me mad. I have a lot of experience and have worked for many top companies.

I am just getting so frustrated. I LOVE the job I am in now but it is a temporary contractor type position. The project I am working on for them is almost complete.

I just want to cry. I think I deserve better with my education and experience.

AHHGGGGgggghHhhhh! :mad:

Freedom
03-19-2008, 05:01 PM
I guess it is the old 'supply and demand.' Not only is the economy bad, but lots of folks are out of work. They need the jobs to support their families, and the hiring managers know they have a large, qualified pool from which to select. So they don't need to pay top dollar right now, in this market.

pitc9
03-20-2008, 07:23 AM
You said the job you're at now is a temporary position, did you get it through a temp agency? My last 2 jobs I found through a temp agency.
I liked it because while I was waiting for "the perfect" job to come along they sent me out to other short term temp jobs, granted I was making less money... but still it was at least some money till my job came along.

I wish you all the luck in the world! I hope the perfect job comes along soon!

gemini9961
03-20-2008, 08:05 AM
I feel for ya Carmen. It would be hard for me to make less than what I make now. I have bills to pay.

Medusa