PDA

View Full Version : Cats.. I want to learn about them - Possibly will adopt in September..

CountryWolf07
01-24-2008, 04:10 PM
So, I am new to cats, never owned one in my life, but I would love to have one to come home to after my classes and whatnot. I will be in my final year in September at Ohio State, and I will be living in a 1 bedroom apartment. So any advice/tips about cats would be wonderful. What I am looking for is a cat with a sweet deposition/attitude, loves to be held/cuddled (I don't know if you can find that in a trait.. but is there one?).. Any breeds you'd suggest me research, would be wonderful. :)

Thanks!

jazzcat
01-24-2008, 04:29 PM
All I can suggest is spend time at a shelter or adoption center and get a feel for the personality. If you get a cat (as oppposed to kitten) you will be more likely to find one that fits your situation the best. I've noticed there are always lots of 1-2 year old cats at our shelter. They say that is when they grow out of their "kitten cuteness" and bad owners get rid of them. :( To me that's when they are best because they are settling down and really showing their personality. Of course don't forget the older kitties. If you are looking for a good lap cat they can be some of the best.

Glad to hear you are thinking about getting a kitty. :)

Laura's Babies
01-24-2008, 04:55 PM
I agree, to get a little experience and knolage, volunteer where you will be in contact with them, get to handle them, play with them and see how they are. Personalities are as varied in cats as they are in people. You have some that want only to be petted when THEY want it and only on their terms. You have some that want to be lap cats and some that don't. Some that want to sleep close to you and some that don't, some that play, play, play and some that don't... You getting the picture? Some can be very demanding of your time and attention and others that would rather be left to themselves.