PDA

View Full Version : Yes another math thread.(HOMEWORK HELP!)

Alysser
01-14-2008, 03:56 PM
I feel kinda weird asking for homework help on here but I've never done it before and I really need this grade. I asked my sister, my parents and they tried for awhile to figure it out, but they couldn't either. It's extra credit and I NEED it. So anyway the problem is:

Toni bought 36 feet of fence to make a pen for her dog, Spike. She wants to use all 36 feet.

a.) If she makes the pen rectangular, what are the dimensions of the pen with the largest area she can make?
b.) If she makes the pen circular would it have more or less area? Work Must be shown.
c.) If she uses her garage as one side of the pen, and she wants it to be rectangular, what are the dimensions of the pen that would give her the biggest area?

It's not sure until next week I think..but I want to hand it in early. Thanks! ;)

vinjashira
01-14-2008, 04:18 PM
1. the largest area Tony can get is if the rectangular is a square. You know what the perimeter of the square is which is the total length of the fence so you can work out the dimension of the square.

2. the circumference of the circle is also the total length of the fence so you can work out the radius of the circle and from that work out the area of the circle. You can then compare the area of the square and the circle and see which has a bigger area.

3. same as 1, the biggest area is a square. the total length of the fence, however, equals three sides of the square because Tony is using the garage as one of the side. You can work out the side of the square and then calculate the area.

Good luck with your homework!

Freedom
01-14-2008, 04:18 PM
Can you get a piece of string, 36 inches long? The play around with that and see what you get.

Hellow
01-14-2008, 04:57 PM
I'm a whiz with number problems but i cant do dimension/word problems well.

kuhio98
01-14-2008, 05:13 PM