PDA

View Full Version : Any mathematicians? Scientists?

Puffin83
07-23-2002, 08:28 PM
I'm a mathematician working on ALE moving mesh algorithms.:)

Cincy'sMom
07-23-2002, 10:07 PM
I have a BS in Biochemistry and came really close to getting a math minor, but got bored with it and didn't take the last 2 5 crdit hours I needed for that. I work on mostly in R& D for a small chemical company makeing polymeric detergents for the study of proteins within the cell membranes.

Puffin83
07-23-2002, 10:09 PM
Originally posted by Cincy'sMom
I have a BS in Biochemistry and came really close to getting a math minor, but got bored with it and didn't take the last 2 5 crdit hours I needed for that. I work on mostly in R& D for a small chemical company makeing polymeric detergents for the study of proteins within the cell membranes. Good enough! Hey, you're my new colleague!;)

Karen
07-23-2002, 10:12 PM
I loved science in high school, but loved art more, so I went to art school. The only course that even had the word science in it was "Issues in Art, Science and Technology" which had almost nothing to do with anything, just whatever the prof felt like talking about. Sigh.

Puffin83
07-23-2002, 10:18 PM
In ALE, a fluid flows throught mesh to be anylized during an interval in time, the time step, and as the time step continues, the mesh becomes more greatly distorted until it must be given up and then recreated by a delta function whitch has to do with ratios and polar coordinates. The mesh is an analyzing algorithm for the fluid. Then the Eulerian method of steady state is used to complete the time step. In the Lagrangian method the time step is broken into two parts:transferring into acceleration and then mapping using the Jacobian method. To update the mesh, the algorithm warps to the polar coordinate ratio to x,y. This is done to measure fluid in fluid dynamics. I work at the Lawrence Livermore Labratory.

Puffin83
07-23-2002, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by Karen