PDA

View Full Version : Can a pharmasist do this?

Laura's Babies
04-15-2007, 05:56 PM
I went to pick up a Rx today that was called in BY the doctors office The doctors office or somebody told me I was given 12 refills. It was for a wart I have been fighting for over 3 years and had burned off twice that just won't go away. When I went to pick it up, the pharmarsist told me I would see a differance in the refills I had left because she changed the 12 to a 3, giving me 2 more refills left. She said the doctor had made a mistake thinking there were 12 treatments in the box and wrote 12 in the refill box instead. I asked her if that is what they told her when she called them and she said "No, I know that is what they meant so I changed it myself...". I told her I have been fighting this thing for 3 years with the doctors help so maybe the doctor meant me to have 12 refills.

Since I called for the refill over a month ago (when my other refill ran out) and they faxed it to the drug store and I never saw it.... I am sure the doctors office had to have called me and told me I had 12 refills for me to have known I had 12 refills..

The insert says it is at least a 16 week treatment which = 120 days... 12 per box X 120 days = at least 10 refills. You are suppose to use the pack you open ONCE and then throw the left overs away. Can they change anything on your Rx without talking to the doctor first? I DO plan to call the doctor tomorrow and if they meant 12 or 3 refills and get this streightened out.

DrKym
04-15-2007, 06:04 PM
No they cannot. To admit that they changed it without Dr. Authorization can also get their license revoked.

Karen
04-15-2007, 06:08 PM
My pharmacists would never do such a thing, they have called my doctor's office before for clarifications.

Laura's Babies
04-15-2007, 06:42 PM