PDA

View Full Version : Any gardeners here?

Pembroke_Corgi
02-22-2007, 01:39 PM
Who else enjoys gardening here? :D

The weather here has been so warm and sunny the last few days it's got me thinking about spring. I can't wait to get started, but it's my first year here in the spring in this new climate, semi-arid. I'll have to find some new plants, I'm not sure what to plant yet, especially as the soil is so sandy. I'll probably just have lots of container gardens as we do get plenty of sun!

What are your planting projects? Got any tips?

borzoimom
02-22-2007, 01:44 PM
I want someone to help me with tomatoes.. Our ground in the city had more sand than it does up here.. Any tips??

DrKym
02-22-2007, 02:19 PM
Im reading this post buried in my seed catalogs, and bushe catalogs and and and ........I love gardening, it was one of the things I adored sharing with my gramma. Jas is sweet enough to a lot of the inside chores spring thru fall so that I can spend a lot of time on the yard and the garden!

I much prefer outdoor chores to housework anyway!

Lets see this year I have planned a raised bed herb garden, a veggie garden in last yrs spot as it did pretty well. A new flower path and some creepy moss for the walkways upstairs out back

last fall I ordered several heirloom roses and an heirloom gardenia set, so lets see how those do when they arrive.

I will need to really work on composting this year as I got really lazy about it last year.

I will be replanting the outdoor aviary this spring again so the birds will have new funzies to tear up when they go to the play pen outside.

I also am going to try the lemon tomatoes this year , our big boys and the cherries did soooooooo well that I would like to add another variety this yr.

KitCat
02-22-2007, 02:49 PM
Tomatoes work good in containers. That way you have good soil free of pests.

Tip: Plant seeds in containers and keep moist. Planting in the ground doesn't give the moisture most seeds need.