PDA

View Full Version : online degree programs

Sirrahsim
02-05-2007, 06:43 PM
Are these a racket? Do employers actually hire people who get their education this way?
It seems like getting a "degree" in medical transcription or something and working from home is just too good to be true. Any input?

CathyBogart
02-05-2007, 06:45 PM
They're overpriced, overblown, and have an incredibly low graduation rate.

DrKym
02-05-2007, 06:54 PM

Cathy i tend to agree, however my son in law did a lot of research with his one, and recieved a degree in accounting , it is now his second year with H&RBlock.

He did say that many of them were awful when he was doing in depth research though. He may the exception, and not the rule , but I think with really good research, some may be ok.

critter crazy
02-05-2007, 07:13 PM
I tend to dissagree!! I got a two year degree, it only took me 8 months, and it only cost me 800$! and on top of it, i had a 3.0 GPA. I think it was the best thing i ever did with my money, and am planning on continuing my education!

DrKym
02-05-2007, 07:18 PM
Wtg Maggie!

critter crazy
02-05-2007, 07:19 PM
Wtg Maggie!
Thank you very much! *takes a bow*:cool:

I was proud, since i had done a semester of college and quit after getting 2 c's and a D!! he he he he he he!! Course i was also taking businessw hich obviously was not my thing!:D

Sirrahsim
02-05-2007, 07:20 PM
Between the time that I spent at Ohio State and the distance learning classes that I took while living in Japan the lowest my GPA ever dropped to was a 3.7 because of a stinking A-.... I don't mean to brag but I have absolutely no worries about not being able to make the grades and graduate.
I'm just wondering if it is actually worth the money. Critter crazy, were you able to find employment based solely on the program you took?

Sirrahsim
02-05-2007, 07:22 PM