PDA

View Full Version : wedding reception

beeniesmom
01-23-2007, 03:21 PM
HIIIII! Remember me?
I need your help gang.
I am helping to cater my nephews wedding reception and I need some ideas of for foods/dishes that are easy to transport and can be served cold.
I live over two hours away from them so I'll have to fill all my coolers!
It's still in the planning stages so I am not sure how many people it will be for (I think around 80-100).
All I know is that the reception will be outdoors and hope it won't rain.
:) Any suggestions will be appreciated!

kittycats_delight
01-23-2007, 03:41 PM
Are you up for some italian dishes? I have been going nuts on the italian cooking since I have been her and have found some great cold dishes. let me know what is a definate no and I will see what I can come up with. Also is it going to be a buffet or sit down? That way I can figure it out maybe a little better.

beeniesmom
01-23-2007, 03:44 PM
You forget Michelle.... I am an Italian cook hehe!
Seriously, I thought about making some pans of "al forno" or "risotto" but it's probably going to be a buffet type thing. I don't know if I'll have a place to reheat anything so for now, it's just ideas of what "you would like to eat" at a buffet style wedding.

kittycats_delight
01-23-2007, 04:05 PM
I remember you are italian. :p

I have been seeing and trying some pretty nice cold antipasti. Last summer it was too hot to cook for the most part so in the evening when it would cool down I would make somethings to eat for the next day.

we made these great little bit size thingys called 'profitterols piccanti' they were served cold and so good

and also pasta fredda I think we lived on that and insalata di riso.

crostini and pane of course

even maybe do a couple of turkeys and slice them and they can be served cold.

I will dig through some of my recipe books as I made these amazing little crab things awhile ago and they were also served cold

Vela
01-23-2007, 06:11 PM