PDA

View Full Version : My kitty won't eat wet food

foobar
01-14-2007, 06:53 PM
Hi there,
I was hoping someone could help me understand why is it that my kitty won't eat wet food. He's 4 months old and he devours dry food but whenever I open a can/pouch of wet food, we seems to just lick the gravy and leave the food intact. He also does this weird stretching motion from side to side but I don't understand what it means. :( I've tried several brands to no avail.
Other than this, the kitty is in excellent health condition, checked by a vet and shots up to date.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

DogLover9501
01-14-2007, 06:57 PM
Is there a reason you want him to eat wet food? Dry food is much better, especially for teeth :)

DrKym
01-14-2007, 07:21 PM
I agree, dry food is better if you are feeding packaged foods. I feed my dogs and cats a raw diet so I have no experience with them turning down food. I do know that my vet reccomends dry if the cat is amenable to it, and wet as a treat or during Illness etc. Wish I could help more, but seems to me, that you have all your bases covered, vaccinations etc.

Freedom
01-14-2007, 07:44 PM
As above have said, dry food is better for the cat. I give wet / moist / canned food once per week or less, just as a treat. At 4 months, be THANKFUL he likes kibble!!!

Many cats do this with the canned food. They lick all the gravy up and leave the bits and pieces. I have 7 cats and 5 of them do this. There was another post about food and many folks said the same thing.

It could be that they know what they need and what they don't, what is good for them and what isn't - and most canned food includes gross stuff! You wouldn't feed it to your pets if you really knew. :eek:

Definitely NOT something to worry about.

Catty1
01-14-2007, 07:51 PM
The wet food that has gravy and chunks....ewww, my personal opinion. The chunks look like some synthetic foam, and I have seen many cats just lick the gravy. Can't say I blame them! :)