PDA

View Full Version : Need rattie advice...

moosmom
11-23-2006, 08:29 AM
I rescued a one-eyed "feeder" rat from my job a few weeks ago, so I'm kinda new at being a rattie mama. His name is Winkie. He was supposed to be a snake's dinner until I stepped in. He's now at my apt in an aquarium and is the most wonderful little boy. I take him out alot and hang with him. He cuddles under my shirt and goes to sleep, popping his head out every now and then. I've been feeding him the normal rattie food, along with stuff (Kaytee brand) that looks like trail mix for rodents, chew sticks, apples and carrots (he went crazy over the carrots).

What I'd like to know is, what else can I give him as a treat?? He has pretty large *ahem* testicles and I was wondering if he can be neutered to prevent any kind of testicular cancer.

I absolutely love this little guy. He's gentle, doesn't bite and my cats seem to be afraid of him, except for MooShoo, who goes nose to nose with him.

Any advice you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Muddy4paws
11-23-2006, 10:05 AM
I'm getting a rat soon! I know there is something about oranges. It said not to give them to male rats because its got something bad for them? I'm sure Chilli can reply more on that!

I've read they like peas pasta dried or cooked wholemeal bread basically table scraps!

This website has helped me alot with my research :)
http://www.fancy-rats.co.uk/home/ (http://)

IRescue452
11-23-2006, 02:44 PM
My girlfriend feeds hers normal people food because processed rodent pellets are really bad for their health, worse than dog kibble is to dogs. I don't know what they can't have, but I know she won't give hers peanuts.

Chilli
11-23-2006, 05:05 PM
Glad to hear the little guy is getting alot of yummy treats. =D
Some of the things my guys & girls go crazy over is: