PDA

View Full Version : Lets talk turkey!

caseysmom
11-22-2006, 11:21 AM
Actually lets talk recipes. I have been cooking the Thanksgiving dinner for 20 years now. I need some fresh ideas! I don't really want to go to the dreaded grocery store anymore but maybe some fresh ideas.

I need some ideas on the yams, I usually bake them like a regular potatoe, then peel them and mix them with butter and brown sugar and put the marshmellows on top and brown them.

I was thinking this year of using condensed milk in the regular mashed pototoes and the yams...does anyone else do this?

I always put the turkey in one of those plastic cooking bags...don't have to baste it and it always comes out pretty moist.

Kfamr
11-22-2006, 11:29 AM
May not be practical at the moment as they can get a bit expensive, but something to think about in the future... a turkey fryer!

We fry our turkey every year and it is absolutely scrumptious! So moist and flavourful.

wolflady
11-22-2006, 11:30 AM
This will be my first year cooking Thanksgiving dinner alone, and I'm afraid that it's going to be a flop! Is cooking a turkey hard? I always thought it seemed so since my mom was in the kitchen all day long!
Any ideas for an easy turkey would be most appreciated!

For regular mashed potatoes, I haven't used condensed milk, but I have used 1.5 cups buttermilk, half stick of butter, and a cup of parmesean cheese for yummy cheesy buttermilk potatoes!

**hugs**

Queen of Poop
11-22-2006, 11:33 AM
Cooking a turkey is the easiest thing in the world. Just don't under cook it. My grandma's recipe calls for it to be stuffed. Cooked at 325oF for the correct amount of hours for the weight of the turkey. If you can wiggle a leg and it's loose then it is cooked long enough. I personally baste my turkey every 30 minutes for the entire cooking time (usually 5 hours).

My mother-in-law has started cooking her turkey upside down. The thought being that the juices stay in the breast.

Vela
11-22-2006, 11:39 AM