PDA

View Full Version : I think one of my bettas is sick..

Muddy4paws
10-26-2006, 11:43 AM
I've noticed that one of my red bettas has turned a lighter colour, the colour isnt as strong as it was before its turned more pink in places, I've treated her water with stresscoat when I change the water and she has a filter in the tank too, The tank is shared with my other red betta and she seems to be fine and alot more lively than the lighter one

Am I doing something wrong? should I taker her out?

My Peanuts
10-26-2006, 12:33 PM
I know a lot about fish, but I'm not a betta expert. However, I do think it's normal for them to look lighter or darker at times. My African cichlids are blue and one of them gets so dark sometimes she looks black. Do you see worms/parasites, spots, or damaged fins? Those are definite signs of disease.

Does the stress coat also remove chlorine and ammonia from the water? Is the betta eating? Is the filter gentle enough for bettas? Bettas are not strong swimmers and a filter that is too powerful will cause them a lot of stress.

Husky_mom
10-26-2006, 12:49 PM
Iīm no expert either but one of my blue males lightened quite a bit one time, I changed his water and in a couple days he was back to normal.......I canīt assure what was wrong but it seemed to help.........

Muddy4paws
10-26-2006, 02:43 PM
The stress coat is meant to make the water from the tap safe

Each dose of Stress Coat removes 3.0 ppm chlorine and 0.3 ppm heavy metals.

To protect fish and condition water:

Add two teaspoonfuls (10 ml) for every 10 U.S. gallons of aquarium water.

To remove chlorine and heavy metals and neutralize chloramines:Add one teaspoonful (5 ml) for every 10 U.S. gallons (40 liters) of tap water.

For tropical fish use only. Do not use on fish intended for human consumption.

Compatibility: