PDA

View Full Version : What is wrong with my car??

Sirrahsim
10-10-2006, 05:57 PM
We're moving sometime in the next 6 weeks.... We just need this stinking car to get us through till we are put into temporary quarters but noooooooo way, it decides that it wants to act up NOW :mad: :mad:

It doesn’t want to turn over, but if we keep pressing the gas while trying to start, it will start after about 30-45 seconds. Yesterday we had to get a jumpstart after being inside for less than 5 minutes :(

I'm hoping that it is something quick and inexpensive to fix, but you know how that goes :rolleyes: Any ideas? I'm calling the auto hobby shop this afternoon because they are MUCH cheaper and just as licensed as the main car garage on base.

I need a hug :rolleyes:

BC_MoM
10-10-2006, 06:03 PM
I'm not a mechanic, nor do I have any knowledge about cars... but... (((HUGS)))!! :D

moosmom
10-10-2006, 06:05 PM
I'm not a mechanic either, but it sounds like it has something to do with the fuel pump.

Vette
10-10-2006, 06:19 PM
I need a hug

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v472/VettesPetz/Smiles/hug.gif wish granted ;)

my dad says it sounds like the fule-pump or the carburetor.

Lady's Human
10-10-2006, 06:37 PM
It sounds like a bad battery or alternator (hence the need for a jump start) causing a weak spark (Trouble starting). I'm assuming from previous posts that it is a carbuerated engine (due to the age) as opposed to fuel injected.

Sirrahsim
10-10-2006, 07:03 PM
It's a 92, I'm not sure if that is considered old or not :p
I will be taking it in to the shop later today or tomorrow and will mention what you guys have said.

Catty1
10-10-2006, 07:09 PM
Is it fuel injected?

If so, get some good injector cleaner (STP, Quaker State, Pennzoil), and add it to a FULL tank of gas.

My car gets reluctant to start if I skip a dose (every other fillup).

Just a thought.

Lady's Human
10-10-2006, 07:11 PM
A 92? Okay, it's fuel injected.