PDA

View Full Version : Need help writing this cover letter!

catnapper
10-02-2006, 11:23 AM
Hi all,
I'm writing a cover letter to give to people who might be interested in my design services. I have NO IDEA what to say in this. It all seems so trite and form letterish. Of course it IS a form letter of sorts --- just letting people know who I am and what I can do for their company.

I've never done anything like this before; all my design has been through word of mouth but I need to get more proactive about selling myself and my talents. So I am composing this letter to give to people who might be able to use me as a freelance designer.

Rather than tell you the pathetic dribble I've already written I thought I might ask you folks what should be said and more importantly, HOW it should be said! I thought the letter should include: who I am, how long I've been in the business/my qualifications, what I can do, and why freelance design is a smart move. Was I right? Did I include too much? Did I miss anything important?

HELP!

Craftlady
10-02-2006, 11:37 AM
You have the right idea. I would NOT use a cover letter per-say. Those I feel should be used when you are applying for a job and sending in a resume.

I would do a flyer presentation with all the information on sheet in bullet style, and type up a business job resume with all your achievements etc. included. Most resumes have a "goal section" that you can elaborate what you could do for a potential client. Keeping it simple and easy to read is the key.

You mentioned going to a business gathering soon, I would hand out detailed resumes to those who showed a strong interest. Hand out the "flyer presention" to everyone attending that you meet, along with a business card.

Blue_Frog
10-02-2006, 12:31 PM