PDA

View Full Version : I'm bringing Jimmy camping in a tent this weekend!

My Peanuts
09-28-2006, 03:51 PM
I'm pretty sure I'm going to bring him. I've never done anything like this before. I figured he was the best pup to bring since he lived outside on his own for 3 years of his life. Also the campsite is 2 hours away and I know Jimmy can handle that because he did well on his almost 9 hour trip back from Tennessee. Also, (shhhh, don’t tell the others) Jimmy is the most well behaved of the 4.

Everyone keeps saying he will be cold. LOL, he used to live outside! Plus he will be with me and I’m not going to let him be cold. I think he will have fun.

Any advice for those of you that travel with your dogs a lot? Like I said it's not for sure that he's going, but I'm pretty sure. I'm really excited about including him! :)

caseysmom
09-28-2006, 04:50 PM
Go for it! I love to camp and take the dogs quite a bit, I never camp without them. I didn't get to camp this year and am so bummed about it.

If it gets too cold the dogs get in my sleeping bag with me, I zip 2 together.

I bring their beds and sometimes cover them with a blanket. What are the night time lows?

dab_20
09-28-2006, 04:51 PM
I'm sure both you and him will have an awsome time!!

I took Molli camping a few weeks ago... it was about an hour and a half away up in the mountains. She had so much fun and I found out she loves to wade into the river. Make sure to keep Jimmy leashed with you at all times if he's not to be trusted. I took two leashes and hooked them together (put it on my belt loop) so Molli could have some freedom. At night Molli was pretty cold (and I was FREEZING!) so I let her sleep in my sleeping bag with me. Just make sure wherever he sleeps he's got a nice warm blanket to cuddle with. And, depending on the temperatures, you could even bring a little sweater just in case. ;) Molli has never been outdoors, except for pottying and exercise, but I think she really enjoyed herself.