PDA

View Full Version : That's all I can stands.. I can't stands no more!!!

momcat
09-27-2006, 07:40 PM
First it was the post "Do not adopt to this man". Then on this morning's news there was a story about a no kill shelter in southern New Jersey being forced to close because of no space and no funds. Not long after that was a story about three teenage boys who tortured and brutalized a kitten. The details are too horrific to post, all three have been arrested and are charged with animal cruelty and conspiracy but we'll see how far that goes since they're juveniles.
As Popeye used to say, "That's all I can stands, I can't stands no more!" Well, PT friends, there's something I think I can do and here's my pledge to all of you. I'm a paralegal with access to an excellent legal research website. My intent is to start researching animal welfare laws and administrative code here in New Jersey to see what sanctions are permitted for cruelty. Once I have my facts solidly documented, letters will be sent starting with our Governor citing chapter and verse stating why it's time to toughen up with stricter laws and punishment that means something. It's past the time for help to be given to shelters so they can keep their doors open and help ALL the animals in need.
I know this is going to be quite an undertaking, the research alone will take some time. But I believe this is something that must be done and doing it on my lunch hour is a positive investment of time. My job is researching laws and making recommendations for changes so I know I can do this. The legal research site gives me access to laws and codes for all 50 states and Canada. My wish is that, in time, this can be done everywhere.
All I'm asking of all of you is your moral support.....
FOR THE ANIMALS

jenluckenbach
09-27-2006, 07:42 PM
AMEN sister!

Karen
09-27-2006, 07:50 PM
Absolutely, we are behind you 100%!

Catty1
09-27-2006, 08:03 PM
YAH!

I can send things on to Canadian contacts!
Let me know!

Lizzie