PDA

View Full Version : Any computer people here??

slleipnir
09-20-2006, 01:45 PM
I'm not really sure how to explain this, but here goes....

I download these video files. I actually don't know what extention because for some reason my computer doesn't say what they are??

Anyway, some of these will play fine. I use Media Player Classic. However, all of a sudden some will not. I get a message that says

"Media Player Classic has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience"

I don't understand? Some of my files and USE to play, don't anymore...it does this with any program I tried, like BS player, and winamp and core Media player...I have rebooted, did a virus scan...I'm not sure what else to do? I really want to watch the file....any ideas??

Dorothy39
09-20-2006, 01:48 PM
I'm not a computer expert, sorry, I just had to read what your problem was and see if it matched my same problem.

Sorry slleipnir, , but I know someone will help you out soon.

RedHedd
09-20-2006, 02:10 PM
I download these video files. I actually don't know what extention because for some reason my computer doesn't say what they are??
When you're in the folder where these files are stored, go to "View" and select "Details" this should show the file extensions. When you discern what the extensions are, highlight the offending file, go to "File" "Open with" and make sure that file type is set to open with your preferred video viewer (this is where you can change it by going to the "Choose Program" option. Note that Media Player won't play Quicktime (Apple) files and vice-versa. HTH

Randi
09-20-2006, 02:20 PM
Note that Media Player won't play Quicktime (Apple) files and vice-versa. HTH
If it's a Quicktime file, you can download QT for free, here: http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/win.html

RedHedd
09-20-2006, 02:32 PM
If it's a Quicktime file, you can download QT for free, here: http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/win.html