PDA

View Full Version : Bad day at work. Is it just me or what???

Catlady711
08-29-2006, 06:06 PM
I figured I'd better post this in the 'Dog House' as it would probably end up here anyways. BTW most of these are my personal thoughts/feelings, NOT those of the hospital I work for!

*begining of rant*

Is it just me or does it bother anyone else that people come on this board with a medical question about their pet rather than calling the pet medical experts first (namely the vet)?????? :confused:

I work as a vet assistant and I see every day at work people who waited too long to come in and the once was treatable problem is now a serious, sometimes untreatable problem.

Upon asking the clients, alot of them say things like;
I thought it was just the food,
I figured maybe he just needed a bath,
thought it had to have been fleas/earmites,
neighbor said her dog did same thing and it healed by itself,
my breeder/neighbor/family said.....,
well my other dogs/cats never had a problem with this,
(and the granddaddy of them all) I thought it would go away on it's own'. GRRRRRRRRR :mad: :mad: :mad:

I have worked in the field for 6 years, and have seen countless animals that have been suffering needlessly because their owners waited, stalled, or tried home remedies (which usually made the situation worse) before they finally decided to call the people that could actually help. If your pet is not acting normally in anyway, don't wait till next month when it's due for vaccinations to bring it to the vets attention. Besides most vets won't vaccinate when a pet is sick anyways. When people are sick with the flu or something I'm sure their first thought isn't of 'gee, now is a good time to get that tetnus shot updated'!!! Same applies for pets!!!

First and formost, there are NO LAWS stating you MUST own a pet in the first place!!