PDA

View Full Version : Hard to handle!

Heather Wallace
05-25-2002, 06:33 AM
I am looking after 2 dalmatians at the moment as I pet sit from my own home.

We have looked after all kinds of dogs, from King Charles Spaniels to Irish wolf hounds and we have never had any problems untill now.

The have chewed some of our personal items ( holiday nik naks that I could never replace), also the cats food bowls, they rade the bins and our livingroom floor in the mornings is covered with anything the have ripped up. We are finding it quite stressfull as they are a handfull. I mailed the owners and he said that he thought that from the beginning I would not be able to handle dalmatians, I felt so insulted and he made me feel very unprofessional as if I was an amateur.

I thought to myself that it's not the breed that's a problem but the fact that their owners go off travelling all of the time and leave the poor dogs behind. Apparantly the dogs have been living in a garage for months. I don't think that they have been trained much either.

I feel so sorry for them.

Dixieland Dancer
05-25-2002, 06:52 AM
:mad: :mad: :mad: What kind of life is it for those dogs being in a garage??? I am a firm believer that a trained dog is a loved dog and a welcome addition to any community. It is apparent from the description you gave that these dogs have been left to their own devices for way to long. Perhaps you can give them a little training in their short stay with you. Dalmations are NOT unruly breeds unless they are not trained. This guy needs to realize HE is the problem. :mad: :mad: :mad:

Cincy'sMom
05-25-2002, 07:24 AM
I have to agree with everything Candy said...Dalmation are high energy dogs and need to be exercised and trained. They need to be with their people, not out in a garage. No wonder they tear things apart! Some people...:mad:

Karen
05-25-2002, 10:10 AM
How long will they be with you? Any way you can do some basic training with them?

tatsxxx11
05-25-2002, 10:13 AM