PDA

View Full Version : Dobermen Question

Aurie
08-09-2006, 10:00 AM
What should I know about male dobermans? The rescue for my stray dobe pup never came through and we have decided to keep him :) Just wondering what to expect as I have little experience with this breed. More people have told me they believe he is probably a mix. I am still not sure of it. But if he is, I can't even begin to guess what the other breed could be. Other then the white on his chest and nothing was docked or clipped, he looks dobbie to me ;)

Karen
08-09-2006, 10:21 AM
How old is he? Just start training now. Mix or not, he'll grow to be a big, strong dog, so you want thing like obedience and leash manners taught right now, while you still physically have the upper hand. And he'll probably be very smart, so be prepared to keep him busy - a bored up is a destructive pup!

Aurie
08-09-2006, 12:05 PM
He is about 3-4 months old. We have started some very basics with him. I do need to get him out on a leash. Will be getting him his own leash tomorrow. I am excited about that for him. I just know very little about the breed other then prejudiced opinions similiar to many of the other 'protection/working/police' breeds. I had read there can be a problem with male/male dog aggression with the dobes. He will be neutered in a couple of months so that should help there. Wondering if there is any other positives or negatives I should know about this breed. :)

Danegirl2208
08-10-2006, 01:29 AM