PDA

View Full Version : what does it mean when a cat snorts...

carole
07-19-2006, 03:50 AM
I am a little concerned for one of my cats Ella, she was fine all day sleeping inside on the couch, as it was raining here and all the cats were happy sleeping inside, then she did this big yawn and snort, at first i just laughed as i had never heard a kitty do that before, anyhow she was fine until this evening, she started snorting all the time until she fell asleep again and stopped, is she ill? does it mean she has a cold or what, or something stuck in her nose, i have no experience with this and so i am hoping someone here can give me some advice, she is eating and drinking normally and seems ok otherwise, but she has never done this before, should i be concerned?

Laura's Babies
07-19-2006, 06:42 AM
I have heard mine do that from time to time and I think it is because they have something in their nose. I am alway pulling small wads of fur out of Amy's nose.

moosmom
07-19-2006, 08:41 AM
Carole,

Since she's eating, playing and pottying normally, I'd keep an eye on her. As long as she doesn't start sneezing, getting gooey eyes and major congestion, it could be nothing.

If for some reason she starts getting symptoms of a URI, (including a temp of between 102-104) I'd take her in for a check up with the vet.

aki
07-19-2006, 09:04 AM
Chuck does it all the time. He has allergies and was doing it last night. Sneezing too. I wish sometimes I could get him to blow his nose in a tissue! LOL

Sometimes he if he is meowing in rapid sucession, he will snort.

~Aki

catmandu
07-19-2006, 09:24 AM
I wouldnt worry about it, as he could have a bit of dust, or fur in his nose.
Moose The Magnificent snorts all the time.

kuhio98
07-19-2006, 12:02 PM
Halo snorts too. She has asthma but she is basically healthy.

carole
07-19-2006, 05:20 PM