PDA

View Full Version : What do you call your in-laws?

popcornbird
06-19-2006, 03:55 PM
Debbie's thread about grandparent nicknames reminded me that I was thinking of this topic.

My husband's parents are flying down here to attend our wedding reception. They will stay with us for awhile before returning home.

NOW...this is my first time EVER meeting them, and my first time EVER having in-laws. (he he he) In my culture, calling one's 'elders' by their NAME is considered rude, inappropriate, unacceptable...so...I have to think of something 'respectful' yet 'normal' to address them by. I can't think of anything!

I know many people call their in-laws 'mom' and 'dad'...but for me...while I know my husband's parents, in 'relation' are LIKE a mom and dad to me (not exactly, but somewhat), I just can't seem to call ANYONE mom or dad besides my own parents. Is there any other appropriate word to address one's in-laws with? Why is this such a dilema for me? I can't understand. :D

What do all of you call you in-laws, and just how did you come up with it? :D

Karen
06-19-2006, 03:59 PM
Nothing in particular. I just say hello! When I'm talking about Paul's mother, I usually call her my Mom-in-law. If I call her, I say "Hi, it's Karen!" Never really solved that one, I guess!

You can refer to them, for now, as Mr. Xyz and Mrs. Xyz, and if that bothers them as too formal, the impetus is on them to say, "Oh, dear, you can call me 'whatever their choice' is.

christa
06-19-2006, 03:59 PM
I call mine by their names . . . Debbie & Larry. I have been married for almost 3 years and still can't imagine calling them mom & dad. We're just not that close yet.

sirrahved
06-19-2006, 04:05 PM
When I'm talking to in-laws, they are Mom & Dad, if I'm talking to hubby, they are Mom and Dad (you know their last name... just fill it in mentally!) just to clarify which set I'm talking about.

finn's mom
06-19-2006, 04:05 PM