PDA

View Full Version : Dog Grooming School

elizabethann
06-05-2006, 10:19 AM
Are there any dog groomers on this board? I'm thinking of learning dog grooming and was wondering how I can find out where to go to learn? I don't think we have any schools in NH that teach dog grooming, but I don't know that for certain.

Also, are you glad you got into this field? Is it something you would recommend to others? Does it pay the bills? Will I be able to live off of dog grooming? I was thinking of perhaps starting a traveling dog grooming business. Purchasing a van and traveling to my clients to groom the dogs. Anybody here do that now? What do you think of it? How is it going?

Sorry for so many questions.

zoomer
06-05-2006, 10:42 AM
I'm not a dog groomer or anything but I think we have a couple on the board. This website might help you out :)

http://www.aspca.org/site/PageServer?pagename=pets_groomdog

Muddy4paws
06-05-2006, 10:47 AM
Im a trainee :D I love it and I would definatly recommend it, you need to be serious about dogs and cats if you plan to go down that route too, I started out by getting a job as a bather which is where most people willl start and I was doing that for about a year before I even got to prep a dog for a bath! :o I only have a NVQ certificate in animal care but nothing in grooming yet as I'm being taught by groomers on the job which I find alot better for me to learn..

I have been doing it for 2 and 1/2 years now and I still love it and I only know about 9 styles which I can do myself but I have picked up so much just from being in that enviroment and I would reccomend trying to get a place in a groomers rather than learning from a college but thats my opinion because I find it so much easier doing the job rather than writing about it!

I know two groomers that make a living off of dog grooming, one which is a mobile groomer and one which is a groomer in a shop.